Date: *Revised February 15, 2019* Revised December 14, 2018 December 8, 2015 December 7, 2015

To: Deans and Department Chairs

From: Ameae Walker, Vice Provost for Academic Personnel Vice Provost Walker

- Cc: Cindy Larive, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Dylan Rodriguez, Academic Senate Chair Cherysa Cortez, Academic Senate Executive Director Academic Personnel Directors
- Re: Sabbatical Leave

"At the University of California sabbatical leaves of absence are not and have not been granted as a matter of individual right; rather they are and have been accorded to qualified members of the academic staff to enable them to enhance their service to the University and thereby increase its distinction." (<u>APM 740</u>, <u>Appendix A</u>)

It is important that all faculty and administrators familiarize themselves with the sabbatical leave policy found in <u>APM 740</u>.

In section 16, limitations on accrual are described:

<u>APM 740-16(a)</u>: "For academic-year appointees, the maximum accrual is 30 quarters or 20 semesters and for fiscal-year appointees the maximum accrual is 40 quarters or 10 years. The Chancellor may approve deferral beyond the above-stated maximum."

For reference, 27 quarter credits are required for a full academic year sabbatical at full salary and 36 quarter credits are required for a full fiscal year sabbatical at full salary for fiscal year faculty. The maximum sabbatical that can be taken at any one time is one service year.

Exceptions to allow accrual above the limits in the APM have been granted on this campus when service in an administrative capacity has prevented a faculty member from utilizing accrued credits. Because of the APM limit of 30 credits, it is necessary for us to record an exception allowing continued accrual on an annual basis.

In December of 2015, an upper limit of 36 credits for 9 month and 48 credits for fiscal year faculty was put in place for those serving in an administrative capacity. This is still the upper limit for Directors. However, as of the date of this memo, for the following titles only

Department Chair Associate/Divisional Dean Dean 100% Faculty Administrators Chair and Vice Chair of the Senate

the upper limit is being raised back to the previous level of 54 credits for those in 9 month appointments and 72 credits for those in fiscal year appointments. Those who have served in the specified administrative capacities between December 7th 2015 and December 14th 2018 and have been denied additional accrual requests during that time may petition to have their accruals come in line with the revised policy.

Deans do not need to request an exception. Per <u>APM 240-60-c(2)</u>, "Deans shall continue to accrue sabbatical leave credit beyond the established limits set forth in <u>APM 740-16-a</u> for the duration of the Dean appointment."

Department Chairs, Associate/Divisional Deans, 100% Faculty Administrators, Chair and Vice Chair of the Senate, must submit an exception request allowing continued accrual on an annual basis.

For questions or more information, you may send an email to <u>academicpersonnel@ucr.edu</u>.